Hot in Arizona!

Well I have been here at my dad’s for a few days now and I am having a great time! The shuttle ride from Vegas wasn’t too bad, it was a little long, but not too bad. I sat in the back next to this older lady and we had the 3 seats to ourselves, so does she sit on the other end, no, she sits in the middle so that we are next to each other and she puts her purse on the other seat. Really?!?! I am one of those people who would rather have an open seat between me and a stranger and I know that’s not just me! And on top of that she kept talking to herself the whole time…it was very weird. I just put in my earbuds and turned up my music!

After I got here we took a drive around town (Lake Havasu City) there isn’t a ton here, but the lake (which is really the Colorado River) is beautiful. It looks just like the beach but instead of the water extending into the horizon, there is a beautiful mountainous backdrop. After the tour we came back and had a great dinner, salad, kabobs, and grilled pineapple! Yum! Yesterday I went to a business lunch with dad, he is trying to set a website up for this guy and he brought me along to give design advice and possibly design a logo. We will just see how that goes. Then we came home and went and sat outside on the patio. We all brought our computers out there and had mango margaritas and they were super great, and I drank the whole thing! For those of you who know me, know that is unusual! Haha! We had a great dinner of grilled pepper crusted ahi ahi marinated in thai seasame lime dressing topped with fresh lemon and dill, very good! We also had grilled corn on the cob, and grilled peaches and pineapple glazed with a mango puree, tequlia, worshishire, and soy sauce concoction…wow the peaches were amazing! And after we were done we stayed out there and just kept talking. It was really nice. Of course we had to wait until the sun went down because it is really hot outside, especially when the sun is out! But it’s still in the 80’s and 90’s when the sun goes down!

Today I had a very lazy day. We all just hung around the house and kinda did our own thing. We had breakfast on the patio (tons of fresh fruit along with bagels with salmon cream cheese) and then I started roasting so I came in and set to finish my book. I was reading this book that my mom recommended to me called, The Shape of Mercy. A woman from our church wrote it, she wrote her first novel in 2004 and has written like 8 more since then! The book was really, really good! It is a story about a young girl who is hired to transcribe the diary of a young girl who was tried as a witch during the Salem Witch Trials. It is such a unique and interesting story idea, and the Salem witch trials have always been interesting to me, especially after reading The Crucible. So if you are looking for a good fiction book check her out, her name is Susan Meissner (http://susanmeissner.com/index.html) And all of her books are available on Amazon.

Picture 1

After I finished reading that book, I started right in on the next one! The new Dan Brown book came out today. It is the 3rd in the Robert Langdon series (following Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code) so I went and pre-ordered it last night and it was delivered to my Kindle today! I just started it, bit so far so good! I have read all 4 of his books and have just been waiting for him to write a new one and I am so glad it’s out! So I will let you know how it is once I finish it!

Tomorrow we are going to go down to the lake and take a boat over to California! Haha! It;s like a 10 minute boat ride right across the lake – it’s Riverside County. So weird! But that should be fun and I will upload pictures soon. Dad and I leave early Saturday morning for Vegas! I’m excited!

XOXO

~ by ooolalalacoste on September 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
