Last Day Venting

Please excuse me while I vent about how the rest of my last class went. Ok, so I got to school 2 hours before class so that I could print some final things and bind 2 identity proposal books that I made before class started. I did and was able to relax a little bit before class started. Well 2:30 rolled around and 3 people from our class were missing, (and there are only 6 of us) they were in the building but they were printing or doing who knows what. So my professor was still talking to some other people not in our class and then he said that we were going to wait until everyone got there to start class. REALLY??!?!? So finally one of the girls came up and we asked her to go get the other one so that we could finally start class. Well once everyone finally got there, they still weren’t ready to bind their books. So we had to wait for them to finish. And since I was the only one who knew how to bind, I had to help everyone else!!! So even though I was done, I had to help the other people. And I honestly didn’t mind because I know that they have all been working hard. But since they were taking so long I didn’t get out of there until 6:00 because I still had to meet with my professor to turn in all my work and talk about it really quick.

And before class started and I was binding my book he asked me if I had used the templates that he uploaded on Tuesday. I told him no because I finished the book on Sunday. So then he tells me that I had an unfair advantage and that is why I was done so early. And I was like WHAT?!?! What unfair advantage could I possibly have? And he said well I allowed you to use the materials from your first project in your third (the original project was to create a logo and stationery and then apply that to other pieces to create an indentity. Well since I did all of that for my first project he said I could photograph everything I did, add some more pieces and then I would have a more complete project) Some other kids did like a magazine for their first project (which we could do anything we wanted btw) and so they had I guess some “more” work than I did. But I’m sorry, I worked really hard on my Sweetcakes stuff and I don’t think that I had an unfair advantage, I did the same amount of work as everyone else. And I just couldn’t believe that he said that to me. So I said well what is my unfair advantage, the fact that I am taking 3 studio classes, something that no one else is doing?!?! That really made me mad!

And when I left at 6, there were still people finishing their work. And there were also people from my 8am portfolio class that I had YESTERDAY that were still working on stuff and one kid is even coming back tomorrow to turn it in because he still isn’t done! I just can’t believe that people weren’t able to get their work done. I mean I know that I don’t have a job or anything else outside of school, but I was taking 3 studios and I completed all my work on time and produced some pretty good work. This finals week was just so different than all the ones I have had in Savannah! But whatever, it is all done! I do have to go to school tomorrow to turn something in for another class and then again on Monday for my prof to photograph my work and then I can get it back. But my Sweetcakes stuff will be displayed in on of the graphic design cases! šŸ™‚

~ by ooolalalacoste on August 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
